Check Point NGFW Reviews, Competitors and Pricing (2023)

Table of Contents
What is our primary use case? How has it helped my organization? What is most valuable? What needs improvement? For how long have I used the solution? What is our primary use case? What is most valuable? What needs improvement? For how long have I used the solution? What do I think about the scalability of the solution? How are customer service and support? Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch? What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing? Which other solutions did I evaluate? What other advice do I have? Which deployment model are you using for this solution? What is our primary use case? How has it helped my organization? What is most valuable? What needs improvement? For how long have I used the solution? What is our primary use case? How has it helped my organization? What is most valuable? What needs improvement? For how long have I used the solution? Which deployment model are you using for this solution? What is our primary use case? What is most valuable? What needs improvement? For how long have I used the solution? What do I think about the stability of the solution? What do I think about the scalability of the solution? How are customer service and technical support? How was the initial setup? What other advice do I have? Which deployment model are you using for this solution? What is our primary use case? How has it helped my organization? What is most valuable? What needs improvement? For how long have I used the solution? Which deployment model are you using for this solution? What is our primary use case? How has it helped my organization? What is most valuable? What needs improvement? For how long have I used the solution? What is our primary use case? How has it helped my organization? What is most valuable? What needs improvement? For how long have I used the solution? Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch? Which other solutions did I evaluate?

reviewer1676751

Network Security Administrator at a financial services firm with 10,001+ employees

Real User

Sep 24, 2021

Download

Great protection, very stable, and offers excellent management

Pros and Cons

  • "The firewall rule writing and object creation are the best and simplest I've seen on a firewall."
  • "When we hit a bug, the support team recommends some hotfix, and if we upgrade to that, we have to uninstall it before we apply some newer jumbo hotfix."

What is our primary use case?

We are a financial institution and we use Check Point as a firewall that is positioned for external connections, like the Internet, leased lines, and site-to-site VPNs for other companies.Check Point protects our mobile applications connected to the internet, as well as the main company website. Some firewalls are positioned on some of our HQs.

We're on version R80.40 (some minor firewalls are on R80.30) and we use 13000, 23000, and 26000 series appliances. We use Application Control, Identity Awareness, IPS, URL Filtering, Anti-bot, Antivirus, Threat extraction, andThreat emulation blades.

How has it helped my organization?

I've been in the same company for 11 years, and Check Point has been running in astable manner for our company's main internet connection (and 7 years before that).

It has protected our main applications successfully without any performance drops, and with its flawless logging capabilities, we were able to pinpoint any issues every time.

The management is also the best among any other firewall, with the convenience to create the objects and rules on the same page. This has helped us save time on operations. We can useAPIs to create objects and rules to easily finish some projects.

What is most valuable?

The best features arethe stability and the performance of the firewall and its software blades, simplicity to write the firewall rules on its GUI, and its logging capabilities.

The firewalls are working stably, without any interruptions. As we planned our capacity well, we've never had any performance issues.

The firewall rule writing and object creation are the best and simplest I've seen on a firewall (I've looked at 6 different vendors). I often wonder why the other vendors don't do it Check Point's way.

To see the logs, we can search like a search engine, and we can combine different search strings to pinpoint the interesting traffic.

What needs improvement?

The product can be improved with fewer hotfixes, and if more generally available jumbo hotfixes were used.

We don't often hit bugs. It's perfectly normal for an NGFW device as other vendors are always fixing bugs too. However, when we hit a bug, the support team recommends some hotfix, and if we upgrade to that, we have to uninstall it before we apply some newer jumbo hotfix. If those fixes were included in a fast manner in the jumbo hotfix (as jumbo hotfixes are tested thoroughly for general availability), it would be ideal.

Buyer's GuideCheck Point NGFWDecember 2022

Free Report: Check Point NGFW Reviews and More

Learn what your peers think about Check Point NGFW. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: December 2022.

DOWNLOAD NOW

656,474 professionals have used our research since 2012.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've used the solution for11 years.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.

Flag as inappropriate

Check Point NGFW Reviews, Competitors and Pricing (3)

RP

RajendraPrasad

Director at TechPlayr

Real User

Top 20

Jan 5, 2022

Download

Centralized architecture, with good support, but the scalability could be improved

Pros and Cons

  • "We have not had any issues with the firewall."
  • "Check Point can scale but at times we have experienced some issues."

What is our primary use case?

We deploy solutions for customers. We don't engage in buying.

We are both consultants and implementers.

What is most valuable?

We have not had any issues with the firewall.

Support is goodand it's centralized architecture.

What needs improvement?

We are also working on load balancers. We don't have the option to work more withload balancers, we wouldlike to see what else can come out of this in terms of security.

Technical support and scalability both require improvement.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been working withCheck Point NGFW for the last ten years.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

Check Point can scale but at times we have experienced some issues.

How are customer service and support?

Palo Alto is better compared to Check Point. I would rate Palo Alto as superior support to Fortinet or Check Point.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We used to work with Fortinet for approximately five years, and the Palo Alto Appliances was some time back.

I believe the Palo Alto support is excellent, and it has more features than Fortinet. Many businesses, in my opinion, are choosing Palo Alto.

Palo Alto support is very good.

Fortinet's main issue is the support.We can't take it to the enterprise level because the Fortinet support is not very good.

What's my experience with pricing, setup cost, and licensing?

Check Point has previously held a large market share, but perhaps not recently. I think that the price point in India is a bit different. Check Point offers options. Idon't see that CheckPoint is very high, but it is geared more towards enterprises.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We have evaluated Palo Alto Networks VM-Series to see what was available, and recently, Iresearched the Azure VM series to know how it worked.

What other advice do I have?

I'm leaning toward the now cloud. The appliance base has now been removed. We are now concentrating our efforts on the Azure Cloud, AWS, and other similar platforms. I believe that people must mature in order to work on it. That's where things stand. As a result, we must learn how this is implemented on cloud platforms.

I would rateCheck Point a seven out of ten butNGFW a six out of ten.

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

On-premises

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.

Flag as inappropriate

Check Point NGFW Reviews, Competitors and Pricing (4)

Buyer's GuideCheck Point NGFWDecember 2022

Free Report: Check Point NGFW Reviews and More

Learn what your peers think about Check Point NGFW. Get advice and tips from experienced pros sharing their opinions. Updated: December 2022.

DOWNLOAD NOW

656,474 professionals have used our research since 2012.

JT

JavierTan

IT Manager at a tech services company with 5,001-10,000 employees

User

May 10, 2022

Download

Great for threat prevention, offers features on the cloud, and has useful logs

Pros and Cons

  • "Being able to access almost everything in one location manage all your gateways and get all your logs is great."
  • "Sometimes debugging is a hassle."

What is our primary use case?

I planned to block traffic from foreign countries, however, Check Point does not have the intelligence to determine VPN connections from foreign countries coming through the local VPN.

I also wish Check Point could bemore effective by collaborating with Microsoft to establish a different connection for Outlook cellphones or devices not on the domain. I wish to hide my devices like cellphones only allowing them to connect via capsule, however,it applies to all devices. It works well.

How has it helped my organization?

It is an excellent, easy-to-acquire system to protect midsize businesses with up to 100+ users that require a security solution that can scale across corporate networks and give us protections against GenV cyberattacks as the business grows.

What I recommend the most is its central administration. With the smart controller, you can manage all your firewalls from one location.

Being able to access almost everything in one location manage all your gateways and get all your logs is great. For me, it's the best feature to work with.

What is most valuable?

The solution is great for cyber attack prevention, data bridges, and other threats. You need intelligent and effective solutions to minimize cyber attacks and Check Point gave me peace in December when they had anunidentified log4j vulnerability.

Our main benefit was the elimination of a server/VM from our data center and the usage of a cloud solution.

Having all the features on the cloud was also a benefit since some products when migrated to cloud solutions lose some features -but not his one.

The setup is a little bit rough and requires some technical expertise, however, this is expected with a solution as complete as a firewall and especially a Check Point one.

What needs improvement?

Sometimes debugging is a hassle. We've had issues with VPN debugging in the past. In the more recent versions, later than R80.10, this seems not to be an issue anymore.

This year we tried to debug performance issues of the gateways, which was cumbersome. When we finally found the performance bottleneck, it was a licensing issue.

Check Point uses CPU-based licensing for OpenServer, and buying more licenses helped. However, this is the reason we're upgrading to Check Point appliances next year, as OpenServer becomes pricier every year, and Check Point pushes their customers to use their appliances.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've used the solution for threeyears.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.

Last updated: May 10, 2022

Flag as inappropriate

Check Point NGFW Reviews, Competitors and Pricing (6)

SM

reviewer1805079

Network Engineer at Fujairah Port

User

Top 5

Apr 14, 2022

Download

Offers a secure environment with great protection and simple upgrade capabilities

Pros and Cons

  • "We can also run policies with two or more people simultaneously without problems or the risk of developing the wrong policy."
  • "The smart console is heavy."

What is our primary use case?

We currently use Check Point's firewall for our data center. We useCheck Point firewall for providing the first layer of security to web application servers and intranet servers.It is robust and easy to upgrade, which makes it less stressful for the administrators. Its failover clustering option also works seamlessly.

The Check Point firewall is used to secure our environments. It also allows us to set up tunnels between our various sites.

We use it for the publication of services, as well as a notification system that reports on user behavior and unusual traffic - both within and outside of the network.

How has it helped my organization?

Over the years, we have experienced various types of attacks on our company, and, without the help of the Next Generation CheckPoint Firewall, we would have lost.

The spoofing feature helps us to prevent various attacks in our organization.

The firewall policy designing and implementation allow for inline policies that make for clearer teaching on the correct use of policies as well as a more readable list. We can also run policies with two or more people simultaneously without problems or the risk of developing the wrong policy.

What is most valuable?

The initial sizing is not a problem. You can easily add more resources if needed. Reliability is a major factor in any hardware or software solution, and Check Point uses cutting-edge hardware. Their software upgrade process is flexible for different deployment requirements.

Their threat analysis reporting in their management console is comprehensive and easy to use. The web-based dashboard is well designed and offers a wide variety of out-of-the-box reporting. It offers admins extensive customization.

What needs improvement?

The list of site-to-site VPN configuration options is long. They can become confusing and communication with other vendors when deploying VPNs is not the strongest. It's totally different from any other VPN vendor I've encountered.

It lists the current threats identified on the appliance's front page. It would be easier to find information by clicking on the threat and clicking the exact logs, rather than all host logs.

The smart console is heavy. It would be better if it was like theweb-based consoles thatPalo Alto andFortigate FW offer.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using the solution for more than a year.

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

On-premises

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.

Last updated: Apr 14, 2022

Flag as inappropriate

Check Point NGFW Reviews, Competitors and Pricing (7)

IA

reviewer1651941

Solutions Architect Infrastructure and Security at a retailer with 1,001-5,000 employees

Real User

Aug 28, 2021

Download

Stable and secure, but not user-friendly in terms of implementation

Pros and Cons

  • "Check Point is awesome from a security standpoint. Based on our experience and also the experience of the other customers, it is a very stable appliance."
  • "It should be user-friendly from an implementation point of view. Its setup is a little bit difficult."

What is our primary use case?

We use a remote access VPN, and this is a perimeter firewall for our data center to secure our servers and internal applications. We are using modelG-6600.

What is most valuable?

Check Point is awesome from a security standpoint. Based on our experience and also the experience of the other customers, it is a very stable appliance.

What needs improvement?

It should be user-friendly from an implementation point of view.Its setup isa little bit difficult.

For how long have I used the solution?

I have been using this solution forfour years.

What do I think about the stability of the solution?

From a security standpoint, it is very stable, and I would rate it a nine out of 10. I don't have any issues with it.

What do I think about the scalability of the solution?

At present, we have 30 for our distribution. So, it is pretty scalable.

How are customer service and technical support?

Their supportis good. Their L1 and L2 support across the globe is great. L3 support is with the Israel team, and they have the right competency to troubleshoot it.Sometimes, when something needs to be done in the software in detail, we need to wait for people to come online from Israel. I would rate their L3 support a six out of 10 because we need to wait for the team from Israel to come online.

How was the initial setup?

Itis a little difficult to set up. We need a really skillful engineer to manage it. After wehave onboarded it correctly, it is very easy to manage, and it is very secure.Initially, we had some challenges and issues, and when we got the right resource and support from the vendor, they all got resolved. It took four or five days.

It should be user-friendly from an implementation point of view. I would rate it a six out of 10 in terms of implementation.

What other advice do I have?

I would recommend this solution.From a security standpoint, Check Point is the best product, but a customer should have the right skillsets to onboard andmanage this.

I've been working with multiple customers in India, and I don't see any specific features that they need. It has coveredpretty much everything.

Overall, I would rate it a seven out of 10.

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

On-premises

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.

Flag as inappropriate

Check Point NGFW Reviews, Competitors and Pricing (8)

IU

reviewer1986231

Senior Network Security Engineer at ATOS

MSP

Oct 12, 2022

Download

Granular with good visibility but needs better training options

Pros and Cons

  • "It is easy to administrate and maintain."
  • "There needs to be advanced troubleshooting."

What is our primary use case?

I've been dealing with the Check Point environment for over eight years, ever since SPLAT, the R75 versions, and mainly with a multi-domain management (former Provider1) set-up. Ialso use the SmartManagement Server, with a standalone/distributed deployment.

I'm currently engaged in the design, implementation, and maintenance of a large-scale Check Point firewall environment (~100 GWs).

Presently, the customer is using Check Point for perimeter security, IPS, threat prevention, encrypted traffic, as well as accessto the internet, and multi-domain server architecture.

How has it helped my organization?

The Check Point solution has improved the way the customer organization functions.

People are working within the organization all over the world, across NALA, APAC, and EMEA regions. Having Check Point as a security vendor made it easy to assure people they could access the resources everywhere, from offices, homes, and across the globe, especially during the pandemic, safely.

One of the last implemented projects was replacing an obsolete Client Auth solution with Identity Awareness, including integration to AVD.

What is most valuable?

The solutionplays an important role in preventing security incidents from happening and preventing malicious attempts to infiltrate into the organization while quickly adapting and reacting to any attempts. For example, it protected us againstLog4J vulnerability a few months ago.

It iseasy to administrate and maintain.

The product is verygranular in the Logs & Monitor section and also intuitive to use.

It offersgood control and visibility over users' identities and actions.

It provides central policy management, which is easyto manage and maintain.

The product offersgreat performance tuning features like SecureXL, CoreXL, HyperThreading, and Multi-Queue.

What needs improvement?

The study material and training need to be improved and become more accessible to security engineers working with Check Point.

There needs to be advanced troubleshooting. The configurationmight get a little bit too complex for regular engineers, compared with easy administration.

We've encountered a few limitations when trying to accomplish simple tasks required by customers. For example,changing a domain name inside an MDS environment ormissing a function in the database which removes the domain object completely from the database.

There are plenty of bugs that arenot documented, or with too generic error messages.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've used the solution for eight years.

Which deployment model are you using for this solution?

Hybrid Cloud

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.

Last updated: Oct 12, 2022

Flag as inappropriate

Check Point NGFW Reviews, Competitors and Pricing (9)

Fabian Miranda

Subject Matter Expert - Helthcare and Corporate Verticals Development at Lenovo

Real User

Top 5Leaderboard

Jul 28, 2022

Download

Helpful management console with a good security posture and protects from threats

Pros and Cons

  • "Admins and executives are more at ease with the compliance engine within the software as it measures how many of the security requirements we're compliant with, making their work much more accessible from that standpoint."
  • "VMware is not supported by the platform."

What is our primary use case?

We have different cloud platforms within the organization and needed a solution that would allow us to control different aspects of them from one single platform, which has allowed us to manage and apply policies across all different locations.

It has allowed us to be more efficient with compliance and maintenance of all different platforms; management of the users is now tighter, and fewer resources have to be invested in applying all the needed policies and levels of access based on company roles.

How has it helped my organization?

The product provides a full security posture for our cloud environment. We get complete visibility of all the workload hosted across all different platforms and all traffic coming in/ out of these cloud platforms. These policies are on 24/7 from any device, say desktop, laptop, mobile, etc.

All this is pretty easy to set up and notifies any anomaly as soon as it arises for immediate attention/ correction; some of these issues will be addressed automatically and just let you know it was identified and solved.

What is most valuable?

The management console offers excellent visibility of all security options and configurations, also showingall the traffic from each user.

Once you're working on a specific action, the interface will pop relevant information around past actions contradicting the new policy, showing you strictly where potential threats may come from.

Admins and executives are more at ease with the compliance engine within the software as it measures how many of the security requirements we're compliant with, making their work much more accessible from that standpoint.

What needs improvement?

This is something that doesn't directly affect us. However, I know VMware is not supported by the platform.

Also, it seems that plenty of features you may not know even exist unless you do some extensive, deep digging as they're not coming up in the initial configuration, so you have to go through the documentation to realize their existence.

Support is really good, so you may rely on them to learn more about these coded features I'm talking about, also to make the proper calibration for the rules/policies you're applying as they may not turn the results expected from the first config.

For how long have I used the solution?

We've used the solution for +2 years now.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.

Last updated: Jul 28, 2022

Flag as inappropriate

Check Point NGFW Reviews, Competitors and Pricing (10)

Afrizal Guntur

Junior Security Engineer at PT Kereta Api Indonesia (Persero)

Real User

Top 10

May 5, 2022

Download

Great security features with helpful mitigation and prevention capabilities

Pros and Cons

  • "The user interface is very cool and easy to use."
  • "The network automation and security automation could be better."

What is our primary use case?

We use the solution for theDMZ firewall. It'svery common and very easy to make configuration, Having IPsec for tunneling solutions with third-party routers and firewalls with other branch offices is very helpful.

It offers support for segmentation networks.

The geolocation feature makes it so that our company can easily allow or block a location of IP and can integrate with our SOC or our log management system.

URL filtering is very powerful for blocking malicious connections.

Theuser interface is very cool and easy to use. It has anti-DDOS protection which is very useful too.

How has it helped my organization?

The solution isvery helpful. Using Check Point helps our security team with mitigation and prevention with an easy user interface and configuration.

Anti-malware and URL filtering can mitigation many malicious activity and log for event easy for us to send to our security operation center team, for internet solutions we use load balancing method with a round-robin algorithm which is very very helpful for internal user solution for accessing the internet with redundant availability.

What is most valuable?

URL filtering and anti-malware protection at=re the most useful as thosecan mitigate many malicious events and make connections between users and the internet safe. It's faster with the load balancing method and supports a round-robin algorithm. This firewall in our environment has high availability or cluster system which makes our availability higher, especially for business continuation plans. Support for troubleshooting and maintenance cases is great. They arevery helpful and fast at solving many problems.

What needs improvement?

The network automation and security automation could be better.We need integration withmore third-party security solutions.

We need two-factor authentication solutions for the virtual private network solution. We need a firewall or NGAV/EDR with lightweight resources that is still powerful for blocking and preventing attacks and malicious activity.

We need enhancement for our perimeter for our security zone, especially for network access control with portal authentication.

For how long have I used the solution?

I've been using the solution for five years.

Which solution did I use previously and why did I switch?

We did use a different solution.We switched as we need more enhancements.

Which other solutions did I evaluate?

We also looked intoFortinet.

Disclosure: I am a real user, and this review is based on my own experience and opinions.

Last updated: May 5, 2022

Flag as inappropriate

Check Point NGFW Reviews, Competitors and Pricing (11)

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Barbera Armstrong

Last Updated: 01/10/2023

Views: 5528

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (59 voted)

Reviews: 90% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Barbera Armstrong

Birthday: 1992-09-12

Address: Suite 993 99852 Daugherty Causeway, Ritchiehaven, VT 49630

Phone: +5026838435397

Job: National Engineer

Hobby: Listening to music, Board games, Photography, Ice skating, LARPing, Kite flying, Rugby

Introduction: My name is Barbera Armstrong, I am a lovely, delightful, cooperative, funny, enchanting, vivacious, tender person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.